Betfred are one of the most active sponsors of sport in and around the UK with a wide variety of sports and tournaments under the famous red and blue banner.

In 2005 Betfred became sponsors of the Group One Sprint Cup at Haydock Park. The race is run over the minimum distance of five furlongs. The sponsorship ended in 2016 and we also sponsored the most prestigious National Hunt race, the Cheltenham Gold Cup, between the years of 2012 and 2015.

In 2017, Betfred began a three year period as the main and title sponsor of Rugby League’s Super League. The league is the northern hemisphere’s premier Rugby League competition featuring 12 teams spread across England whilst also featuring the Catalans Dragons who are based in Perpignan, France. The season finishes with the Grand Final that has been held at Old Trafford since 1998. The current champions are the Wigan Warriors who defeated the Warrington Wolves in October 2018. Betfred also sponsor Championship and League 1.

Betfred sponsored the World Snooker Championships between the years of 2009-2012. In 2015 it was announced that we were to once again become the sponsors of the tournament and increase the winner’s prize money to £425,000. The current champion is Mark Williams who defeated John Higgins in May 2018.

In June 2017, Betfred was confirmed as the new official shirt sponsors of Championship side Bolton Wanderers in an agreement which will initially last for two years.

In May 2016 it was announced that Betfred would take over sponsorship of the Scottish League Cup for 3 years rebranding it to the Betfred Cup. Eight sections of five teams play in a round-robin format starting each July. The tournament involves 38 clubs with the exceptions being clubs involved in Champions League or Europa League qualifiers. The winners of the Highland League and Lowland League also partake in the competition that culminates with a final at Hampden Park in November. Coverage of the Betfred Cup is provided by subscription channel BT Sport and the current champions are Celtic FC who beat Aberdeen 1-0 in December 2018.

In November 2018, Betfred signed a three-year deal to sponsor the World Matchplay Darts at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool between July 20-28th . The tournament will be shown live on Sky Sports. Prize money for the event was increased to a record £700,000 with the Winner taking home the Phil Taylor Trophy and a cheque for £150,000. The current champion is Gary Anderson.

In March 2019, The European Tour announced Betfred as the new title sponsor of the British Masters. The agreement, for an initial two years, marks another new chapter for the historic tournament, which has been a popular part of the European Tour’s Race to Dubai for the past four seasons. Tommy Fleetwood, the 2017 Race to Dubai Champion and one of the stars of last year’s Ryder Cup, will host this year’s Betfred British Masters at Hillside Golf Club (May 9-12), in Southport.